Posted on

The Bodyweight Warrior

Image with bbpics in June, 2013. Next shoot scheduled for May 1st to May 4th. Big things coming!

So, if you like many of my other friends have the problem with having no gym access on any type of holiday (today is Easter), then you are the ninety-nine percent, my friends! Luckily I don’t have this problem BUT I do like to put myself in the position of you mortals who do not have this kind of access (sorry, listening to too much Dragonforce lately with the mortal analogy) I’m more than happy to pull a Jesus and put myself into this position, coupled with the fact that it’s sunny and seventy-five degrees out, it is the perfect day to honor my warrior ancestor…..at least I think he is!ImageSir David Mathew, Dafydd ap Mathew, David, son of Mathew, Lord of Landaff. source, A Mat(t)thews Family Trail from Wales to West Virginia, Nelson Elbert Matthews.

So, in 1400s Wales, of course they didn’t have much resistance training to work with, and I highly doubt David was introduced to a dumbbell, kettle bell, or a barbell. So, how may he have trained? I think I have a general idea, but first, I have to wait til the hottest part of the day when it IS sunny and seventy-five, hopefully with some dry humidity, and get a good sweat pouring down my face! 

Workout:

Three Sets/X Reps

Triceps push-ups (Close grip style); Chair Dips (Use stairs if you want), Pull-ups (gotta porch); Pistol Squat (single leg squat if this is impossible); Side to Side Squats (go until you feel an intense burn); Russian Twist (again, until obliques are on fire)

Three sets, varying reps, afterburn style:

Push-ups for X reps; Jump Lunge, twenty-five reps each; Plank-up for X reps (Plank into a push-up); Jump Squats for 25 reps; Diamond Push-up for X reps (hands in diamond shape)

Three sets/Thirty seconds

Mountain Climbers; Bodyweight Curl (find something rigid, like a wooden porch step, hang parallel at a diagonal angle with ground, and curl up); Handstand Push-up (find a wall).

This workout is brutal. Warm-up with a one mile run, then proceed to get into warrior shape. Next time you, won’t be whining because your gym is closed!

ImageProgress selfie to ‘the Captain’ John Mitchell, showing my progress. Thanks, bbpics!

About Todd Matthews

Todd Matthews is a—okay, talking in the third-person is weird, so hi, I’m Todd! I’m a professional Thought Criminal who hides behind a screen and pens random thoughts regarding liberty. When I jumbled my thoughts together, I created Northern Knights, Episode I in the Lord of Columbia Series. Before venturing into writing I was a personal trainer who loved to yell at people and whip them into shape. Well, that’s about all there really is to know. -Todd Matthews.

Leave a comment